The best WarGames five-man team of each era

WarGames’ main roster debut promises to be one of the most exciting this Saturday night at Survivor Series. WWE Pay per view in recent memory.

The teams are of course geared up for the men’s match: The Bloodline is taking on the Brawling Brutes and their honorary One-Knight members. Drew McIntyre And Sheamus, the thought came to mind of what a Wargames five-man team from different eras of WWE would look like?

WWE and nationally televised wrestling began in the mid-1980s, and we’ll start here. This is convenient given the rise of WrestleMania 1985. This can be seen as the starting point of the modern WWE.

To make things a little more interesting, wrestlers can only be chosen once – meaning that Undertaker’s career has spanned every WWE era to date, but he can only appear on one side.

Such was their prominence in the 1990s wrestling boom that WCW and ECW teams were also selected.

With this in mind, GiveMeSport takes you through the WarGames teams from every WWE era…

The Rock ‘n’ Wrestling Era (1985-1991)

Hulk Hogan, Andre the Giant, Randy Savage, Roddy Piper, Ultimate Warrior

Hulk Hogan

Here are some obvious options. The rise of WWE and WrestleMania went hand in hand with the phenomenon of Hulkamania. Hogan reigned as champion for most of this period and faced four of his teammates in the main events of WrestleMania, albeit Piper in a tag match.

These men contributed to putting WWE on the global map and appeared in some of the first Survivor Series Classic Eliminator matches. Trailblazers.

New Generation Era (1992-1996)

Bret Hart, Shawn Michaels, Diesel, Razor Ramon, The Undertaker

This era saw a move away from the cartoonish characters of the past and a focus on in-ring work. In saying this, he still had the executioner of the corpses in The Undertaker, but he was the exception to any rule. This time he became a little more humanized.

The Hitman and The Heartbreak Kid defined this era with their 60-minute Ironman match at WrestleMania 12 and countless other battles (on and off-screen). Clique members Diesel and Razor contributed significantly before leaving for WCW, changing the game forever.

Attitude Era (1997-2001)

Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock, Mick Foley, Triple H, Kane

WWE The Rock
WWE The Rock

A great era in professional wrestling. By the way, an all star cast next door. The Stone Cold era was ushered in, then joined at the very top of the industry by The Rock. These two will co-captain the team and it’s safe to say that two all-time megastars in the same era will never stand side-by-side.

Triple H The perfect heel foil for both, Mick Foley was a fan favorite in each of his roles, but Kane would sneak the rules outlined above. Always overshadowed by his fictional half-brother, this was arguably the heyday of the Big Red Machine.

Era of Ruthless Aggression (2002-2005)

Brock Lesnar, Kurt Angle, Big Show, Eddie Guerrero, Rey Mysterio

An era that began with Vince McMahon announcing it in the middle of the ring. No one has quite defined ruthless aggression Brock Lesnar And Kurt Angle, whose WrestleMania 19 main event was probably the best A “pure” wrestling match in WWE history.

Lesnar didn’t make it to 2005 but his two years of influence were terrifying. It was an all-SmackDown team that gave Raw its prime at the time and Triple H’s place on the top team. Big Show entered as a result, but Eddie (WWE Champion in 2004) and Rey were the most popular stars in the business at this time.

PG Era (2006-2010)

John Cena Batista
John Cena Batista

John Cena, Batista, Randy Orton, Edge, Chris Jericho

Cena, Batista, and Orton all have a claim on the previous team, all of whom debuted during this time. However, they really came into their own during this era, all being multiple-time world champions and perennial main eventers.

In 2006 Edge won his first 11 world titles and established himself as a career high. He is the eccentric bad guy of this era. Y2J wasn’t far behind, with his 2007 return leading to an epic heel run from 2008 that saw one of the character reinventions that keep him relevant to this day.

Reality Era (2011-2015)

Daniel Bryan, CM Punk, Sheamus, The Miz, Bray Wyatt

This era saw the rise of the underground and independent scene in the form of Punk and Bryan, both of whom scraped and scraped their way to the top with the support of a major fan base. Punk’s 2011 pipe bomb and subsequent 434-day WWE title run, and Bryan’s “yes movement” arguably Greatest world title win ever At WrestleMania 30, this era was defined.

Sheamus moved up the ranks, The Miz became a shocking but deserved WWE Champion and Wyatt’s first year in WWE was still his best – his cult status was incredible, he was heavily protected and his first WrestleMania match came against John Cena.

New Era 2016 –

Roman Reigns, Seth Rollins, Drew McIntyre, Bobby Lashley, AJ Styles

Roman Reigns Seth Rollins
Roman Reigns Seth Rollins

A number of wrestlers are incredibly unlucky to miss out here – Sami Zayn and Kevin Owens have had the pleasure of the week but if Dean Ambrose was John Moxley in WWE, he’d be a definite choice. As such, the five men chosen defined both an era and the main WWE Championships.

Reigns has been the No.1 guy in the company this entire time, first internally and secondly, since his 2020 heel turn, as the best in the business. He is joined by his Shield brothers Rollins, a two-time Universal Champion and possibly the best wrestler in WWE at the moment.

Both McIntyre and Lashley are examples of men who returned to WWE hungry and determined to make up for lost time and wasted opportunities. Both are two-time WWE champions and both have defeated Brock Lesnar. Rarely. As far as the reign’s historic run goes, it’s fair to say that AJ had the best World Title run in previous years, holding the belt for 371 days, which gives him the nod here.

The WCW team

Sting, Ric Flair, Goldberg, Diamond Dallas Page, Booker T

Ric Flair Sting
Ric Flair Sting

NWOs are excluded considering their options elsewhere. This still gives us an amazing amount of talent to choose from. Sting and Ric Flair defined WCW and wrestled the final match in company history. Goldberg’s greatest creation; His streak was legendary and he was a megastar in the late 1990s. DDP is the “People’s Champion” and an unlikely success story, but no one has won more titles in WCW than Booker T.

ECW Team:

Rob Van Dam, Taz, Sabu, Raven, Tommy Dreamer

RVD, Sabu and Tommy starred at WrestleMania 23 in an underrated feud with the revived brand’s New Breed on the ECW Originals team. All three feature here, with RVD and Sabu providing lethal athleticism and Dreamer being the heart and soul of the company.

Taj was a certified killer and “human suplex machine” who was absolutely spoiled as an in-ring talent in WWE. Raven was one of the most interesting characters in wrestling in the 1990s and has the second longest reign with the ECW title. He sneaks in front of Sandman and Shane Douglas.

How many world titles does Roman Reigns have in WWE?

News Now – Sports News

Leave a Comment