The 10 longest reigning World Champions in history

Roman Reigns will become the longest reigning WWE World Champion in a generation by taking his title reign past the 800-day mark if he can defeat Logan Paul at Crown Jewels tomorrow night.

Reigns added the WWE Championship to his collection at WrestleMania 38, making him the Undisputed WWE Universal Champion while the title marked Reigns separately.

But who has more, less or relatively longer title as “tribal chief”? Since this is a WWE discussion, only world titles under the company umbrella are considered: WWE, Universal, World Heavyweight, ECW, WCW (2001).

Let’s go with that GiveMeSport WWE takes you through the 10 longest world championship reigns in history…

10. Hulk Hogan – 364 days

Hogan only missed a full calendar year in his second reign as WWE Champion. He defeated Randy Savage on April 2n.d1990 at WrestleMania 5 and held it until the following year’s WrestleMania, where he lost it to The Ultimate Warrior.

AJ Styles

=9. AJ Styles – 371 days

AJ’s second WWE Title reign began on November 7Th, 2017 when he defeated Jinder Mahal (yes, really) on the UK episode of SmackDown. He lost the title on TV on November 13Th2018 episode of SmackDown to Daniel Bryan and a low blow.

=9. Randy Savage – 371 days

The Macho Man’s first WWE title may have ended in the hands of his former friend Hulk Hogan, but began by defeating Ted DiBiase at WrestleMania 4 in the tournament finals for the vacant belt.

7. John Cena – 380 days

Cena’s third of a record 13 WWE Championship reigns is his longest. He defeated Edge in an epic TLC match on September 17 at UnforgivenTh2006 and the title was dropped only on October 2n.d2007 due to severe pectoral injury.

CM Punk
CM Punk

6. CM Punk – 434 days

Punk may be the most controversial figure in modern wrestling history, but he had the longest WWE Championship reign in 20 years, starting at Survivor Series 2011 (November 20).Th) until Royal Rumble 2013 (January 27Th) literally a year later, he left the company for good.

5. Roman Reigns – 796+ days

Current champion and champion for more than 30 years. “Head of the Table” Universal title stranglehold on Aug. 30 at PaybackTh2020.

4. Bruno Sammartino – 1,237 days

We now enter the four-digit rule. Bruno’s second WWE title reign lasted three years from December 10Th1973, until April 30, when he defeated Stan StasiakTh1977, when he dropped the belt to “Superstar” Billy Graham.

Hulk Hogan
Hulk Hogan

3. Hulk Hogan – 1,474 days

Hulkamania officially began its run on January 23 when Hogan won his first WWE title.RD1984. He held the title for four years, losing it to Andre the Giant on February 5.Th1988 storyline ref bribed by Ted DiBiase.

2. Bob Backlund – 2,135 days

Backlund won the title on February 20 from Billy GrahamTh1978 and was not abandoned until December 26Th, 1983, when he lost to The Iron Sheik. A staggering 5 years, 10 months and 6 days.

1. Bruno Sammartino – 2,803 days

Sammartino was the first great WWE Champion and held the belt. He defeated first-time holder Buddy Rodgers on May 17Th1963 and lost Ivan Koloff on January 18Th, 1971. Just four months into an eight-year reign. It will never be over the top.

News Now – Sports News

Leave a Comment