2023 Spirit Awards Movie Nominations Nominees List – The Hollywood Reporter

The 2023 Film Independent Spirit Awards nominations in the film categories were revealed Tuesday morning.

Taylor Paige and Raul Castillo announced this year’s film nominees in a live stream on Film Independent’s YouTube channel.

This year marks the first year that gender-specific distinctions have been removed for the Film Independent Spirit Awards’ acting honors, replacing Best Actor/Actress and Supporting Actor/Actress with gender-neutral categories with the same combined number of nominations. The new categories are Best Lead Performance and Best Supporting Performance. Each of them will feature 10 nominees, while the new gender-neutral category of Outstanding Breakthrough Performance will feature only five nominees.

Earlier this year, the Spirit Awards raised the budget cap for eligible films to $30 million or less, or $1 million or less for the John Cassavetes Award.

The 38th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards will be held on March 4, 2023 at Santa Monica Pier Beach. Nominations for the Spirit Awards TV categories, which include gender-neutral acting honors, will be revealed on December 13.

A full list of this year’s Spirit Awards film nominees follows.

Best feature (Producer awarded)

Bones and all

Producers: Timothée Chalamet, Francesco Melzi d’Eril, Luca Guadagnino, David Kazganich, Lorenzo Mieli, Marco Morabito, Gabriel Moratti, Theresa Park, Peter Spears

Everything Everywhere All Ohms

Producers: Daniel Kwan, Mike Larocca, Anthony Russo, Joe Russo, Daniel Scheinert, Jonathan Wong

Our father, the devil

Producers: Ellie Foumby, Joseph Mastantuno


Producers: Todd Field, Scott Lambert, Alexandra Milchan

Women are talking

Producers: Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Frances McDormand

Excellent first feature(Awarded to Director and Producer)

Later sun

Director: Charlotte Wells

Producers: Mark Seriak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski

Emily the Criminal

Director: John Patton Ford

Producers: Tyler Davidson, Aubrey Plaza, Drew Sykes


Director: Sobagu Bratton

Producer: Effie T. Brown, Chester Aljournal Gordon


Director: Antoneta Alamat Kucijanovic

Producers: Danizel Peck, Rodrigo Teixeira

Palm trees and power lines

Director/Producer: Jamie Dock

Producer: Leah Chen Baker

John Cassavetes Award – Awarded for Best Feature Made Under $1,000,000 (Awarded to Writer, Director and Producer)

African Desperate

Writer/Director/Producer: Martin Sims

Writer/Producer: Rocket Kaleshu

Producer: Vic Brooks

A love song

Writer/Director/Producer: Max Walker-Silverman

Producers: Jesse Hope, Don Janway


Writer/Director: Ricky D’Ambrose

Producer: Graham Swann

Holy Amy

Writer/Director: Araceli Lemos

Writer/Producer: Giulia Caruso

Producers: Matthew Bompoint, Ki Jin Kim, Konstantinos Vassilaros

Something in the dirt

Writer/Director/Producer: Justin Benson

Director/Producer: Aaron Moorhead

Producer: David Lawson Jr.

Best director

Todd Field



After Yang

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert

Everything Everywhere All Ohms

Sarah Polley

Women are talking

Halina Region

Bodies are bodies are bodies

Excellent screenplay

Lena Dunham

Called Catherine Birdie

Todd Field



After Yang

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert

Everything Everywhere All Ohms

Sarah Polley

Women are talking

Best First Screenplay

Joel Kim Booster

Agni Island

A story by Jamie Dock, Audrey Findlay, Jamie Dock

Palm trees and power lines

KD Davila

emergency situation

Story by Sarah DeLappe, Kristen Roupenian

Bodies are bodies are bodies

John Patton Ford

Emily is a criminal

Best lead performance

Cate Blanchett


Dale Dickey

A love song

Mia Goth

the kiss

Regina Hall

Horn to Jesus. Save your soul.

Paul Meskal

Later sun

Aubrey Plaza

Emily is a criminal

Jeremy Pope


Andrea Riseborough

to Leslie

Taylor Russell

Bones and all

Michelle Yeoh

Everything Everywhere All Ohms

Best Supporting Performance

Jamie Lee Curtis

Everything Everywhere All Ohms

Brian Tyree Henry


Nina Haas


Brian D’Arcy James


Ke Hui Quan

Everything Everywhere All Ohms

Trevante Rhodes


Theo Rossi

Emily is a criminal

Mark Rylance

Bones and all

Jonathan Tucker

Palm trees and power lines

Gabrielle Union


Excellent breakthrough performance (New Award)

Frankie Corio

Later sun

Gracija filipoviC


Stephanie Hsu

Everything Everywhere All Ohms

Lily McNerney

Palm trees and power lines

Daniel Zolgadri

Funny pages

Excellent cinematography

Florian Hofmeister


Helen Louvert



Later sun

Elliott Rocket

the kiss

Anisia Uziman

Neptune Frost

Excellent editing

Ricky D’Ambrose


Dean Fleischer Camp, Nick Paley

Marcel the shell with shoes on

Blair McClendon

Later sun

Paul Rogers

Everything Everywhere All Ohms

Monica Willey


Robert Altman Award– Awarded to the director, casting director and ensemble cast of a film

Women are talking

Director: Sarah Polley

Casting Directors: John Buchan, Jason Knight

Ensemble Cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloin, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Winter, August Winter

Best Documentary(Awarded to Director and Producer)

All breathing

Director/Producer: Shaunak Sen

Producers: Teddy Leifer, Aman Mann

All beauty and bloodshed

Director/Producer: Laura Poitras

Producers: Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golizov, John Lyons

A house made of splinters

Director: Simon Lereng Wilmont

Producer: Monica Hellstrom


Director/Producer: Snow Hnin I Hlaing

Producers: Mila Ang-Thwin, Ulla Lehman, Bob Moore

Wrightsville, USA

Director: Sierra Pettengill

Producers: Sarah Archambault, Jamila Vignot

Best International Film(Awarded to Director)



Director: Mary Kreutzer



Director: Saim Sadiq

Leonor never dies


Director: Martica Ramirez Escobar

Back to Seoul

South Korea/France/Belgium/Romania

Director: Davey Chow

Saint Omer


Director: Alice Diop

The Producers Award is presented by Bullet Frontier Whiskey– The Producers Award, now in its 26th year, honors emerging producers who, despite increasingly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision necessary to produce quality independent films.

Liz Cardenas

Tori Lenosky

David Grove Churchill Viste

Anyone to watch the award – The Someone to Watch Award, now in its 29th year, recognizes talented filmmakers with a singular vision who have yet to receive due recognition.

Adama Ebo

Horn to Jesus. Save your soul.

Nikyatu Jusu


Araceli Lemos

Holy Amy

A truth rather than fiction award– The Truer Than Fiction Award, now in its 28th year, is given to emerging directors of nonfiction features that have yet to receive significant recognition.

Isabel Castro


Reed Davenport

I didn’t see you there

Rebecca Hunt

no need

Leave a Comment